Posted by: itstails | December 17, 2008

Excuse Me, Is This Train Going North?

It’s hard to think and act under pressure.  And you never know how you react to pressure until you actually go through it.  Like, for instance, last weekend I found out that when someone at a bar challenges me to a fight my reaction to that pressure filled situation is to wet myself.  I’m not proud of it, but at least the guy was too grossed out to kill me.

But I think even I reacted to pressure better than this “Lake Forest woman who died from injuries suffered when her car was struck by a freight train in Anaheim (who) dialed 911 to report her predicament.”So, this woman was stuck in her car on train tracks, with a train barreling down on her and her first reaction was to call 911?!  That’s like being caught in a burning building and calling 911, Excuse me, 911 – I’m in a building and wouldn’t you know it, the darn thing caught on fire.  Get out!  Run out of the building fast!  You know, that is just a great idea sir, I probably should get ou…ahhhh.  

So what did the dispatcher who recieved the call say, “(she) was urged by a dispatcher to get out of the car.”  I wonder if the last thought to go through her mind was, You know, that’s a great idea!  I think people are becoming a little to reliant on cell phones these days.  You mean my cell phone can call someone in China, take a picture of a celebrity, play music, but it can’t get me out of my car when a train’s about to hit it!  Then what is this $30/month going towards?!

If you liked this post, check out Looking to Expand Your Brain?

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/28278606

Responses

  1. […] Excuse Me, Is This Train Going North? […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

